skip to main content
New Zealand Poet Laureates at Matahiwi Marae
10 am Powhiri
10 October 2020
David Eggleton a poet, art critic, writer, editor and free lance journalist
receives his Poet's Tokotoko created by Jacob Scott.
Thanks to John Buck of Te Mata Estate Winery and Peter Ireland of the National Library.
This began as Te Mata Estate Laureate Award in 1996 to 2007, and was changed to the New Zealand Poet Laureates with the Natonal Library from 2007.
Previous Poet Laureates are Bill Manhire, Hone Tuwhare, Elizabeth Smither, Brian Turner, Jenny Bornholdt, Michele Leggott, Cilla McQueen, Ian Wedde, Vincent O'Sullivan, CK Stead and Selina Tusitala Marsh.
Thanks to Matahiwi Marae for hosting this event every year since 1996.
Acknowledging also Ngahiwi Tomoana for suggesting Matahiwi in 1996.

New Zealand Poet Laureates at Matahiwi Marae 2020

+ Text Size -